Swing Sideways

by Nanci Turner Steveson

Nominated for the

Wyoming State Indian Paintbrush Award

A SCHOLASTIC BOOK FAIR SELECTION

NOW IN PAPERBACK FROM HARPERCOLLINS

Reviews:

". . . the emotions are there and keenly felt, from the palpable tension created by Annie's mother's helicopter parenting to the love between friends and between parent and child - love that makes the heart swing sideways. This will please country girls at heart, those needing to be brave, and those wanting a good summer story of friendship and growth."  Recommended from Johns Hopkins University Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This is a summer neither Annabel nor readers will ever forget." - School Library Journal

"This powerful tale of friendship and hope, made especially poignant by each girl's struggle to repair family relationships, will capture hearts. Add an injured dog...woods made for adventures, and heartbreak that never becomes mawkish, and you have a story about so much more than summer fun." -€” ALA Booklist

"One of the best kids books coming in May!" - The Children's Book Review


"Perfect for fans of Walk Two Moons, and Bridge to Terabithia."

After a difficult seventh grade, Annie has been promised a summer of freedom in the country. When she meets California, who is visiting from Oregon to stay on her reclusive grandfather's farm, it seems she has found the perfect partner for the adventure she's always craved. 

     But Annie's summer of freedom is sprinkled with secrets, and everything she has learned about bravery, forgiveness, loss, and love, will be put to the test when the truth behind the ultimate secret changes her life forever.

Georgia Rules

(HarperCollins May 2017)

* Starred review from ALA Booklist". . . this book soars as it details the fractious and frustrating relationship between Maggie and her mother, and the way it makes Vermont, and its beauty throughout the seasons, a character of its own. Along with the many tender moments here—some occurring as Delilah softens thanks to the affections of the two young Parker girls—there is also determination and revelation, giving this more heft than usual for a middle- grade novel."

* Publishers Weekly: "A 12-year-old’s attempt to learn about her recently deceased father while at odds with her conservative mother provides the framework for Steveson’s well-crafted novel...It’s an inspiring story of opening eyes and expanding perceptions.”

* Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books: “This book gives young readers a useful perspective on the negotiation of power in their own lives, and it sheds a soft light on the imperfections of adults, creating space for honest and open dialogue.”

A poignant and moving middle-grade novel perfect for fans of One for the Murphys and The Penderwicks, about a girl whose friendship with an unforgettable neighbor family will open her heart and change her life.
 
Magnolia Grace never wanted to leave Georgia. She never wanted to move with Mama to the farm her daddy owned before he died. But now here she is, in a tiny Vermont town where everybody sings the praises of the father Maggie never knew.
 
Then Maggie meets the Parker family—two moms, six kids, plus a pony. The Parkers are loud and wild, ask lots of questions, and don't follow any of the rules Maggie grew up with in Georgia. Suddenly Maggie has questions too—questions about her father, and why Mama kept him away for so long. In her search for answers, Maggie will learn that families are like patchwork quilts, sewn together by love, and all the more beautiful for their different colors.

Click here to download a Swing Sideways Discussion Guide