Swing Sideways

by Nanci Turner Steveson

A SCHOLASTIC BOOK FAIR & BOOK CLUB SELECTION STARTING FEBRUARY 2017

Reviews:

". . . the emotions are there and keenly felt, from the palpable tension created by Annie’s mother’s helicopter parenting to the love between friends and between parent and child—love that makes the heart “swing sideways.” This will please country girls at heart, those needing to be brave, and those wanting a good summer story of friendship and growth." — Recommended from Johns Hopkins University Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books 

“This is a summer neither Annabel nor readers will ever forget. — School Library Journal

This powerful tale of friendship and hope, made especially poignant by each girl’s struggle to repair family relationships, will capture hearts. Add an injured dog...woods made for adventures, and heartbreak that never becomes mawkish, and you have a story about so much more than summer fun.” — ALA Booklist

"One of the best kids books coming in May!" — The Children's Book Review


"Perfect for fans of Walk Two Moons, and Bridge to Terabithia."

After a difficult seventh grade, Annie has been promised a summer of freedom in the country. When she meets California, who is visiting from Oregaon to stay on her reclusive grandfather's farm, it seems she has found the perfect partner for the adventure she’s always craved. 

     But Annie’s summer of freedom is sprinkled with secrets, and everything she has learned about bravery, forgiveness, loss, and love, will be put to the test when the truth behind the ultimate secret changes her life forever.

Order an autographed copy through  Valley Bookstore in Jackson, WY

Amazon

 

Coming Summer 2017 from HarperCollins
Georgia Rules
by Nanci Turner Steveson

Audio book read by award winning narrator, Tara Sands, is available for pre-order. Listen to a clip of Chapter One here: 

Swing Sideways Audio

Click here to download a Swing Sideways Discussion Guide